Chorale & Chapel Choir

Visit the Duke Chapel Choir's website for information about participating in this group.

The Duke University Chorale, the primary choral group of the Department of Music at Duke, is composed of 50 singers. Formed in 1970 when the Men’s and Women’s Glee Clubs were combined into a single choir, the Chorale performs numerous concerts throughout the year, both on and off campus, and tours annually during Duke’s Spring Break. In previous years the Chorale has toured China, Italy, Austria, Hungary, Poland, the Czech Republic, England, Wales, Mexico, and many parts of the U.S. Their 2015 tour took them to California, with concerts in San Diego, Claremont, Ventura, Carmel, and at Stanford University.

The Chorale’s repertoire features both sacred and secular music ranging from the Renaissance to contemporary works, from serious to relaxed music, and from unaccompanied works to pieces with piano and other instruments. In recent years the Chorale has also performed major works with the North Carolina Symphony and other professional orchestras, including the Brahms, Berlioz, and Mozart Requiems, Bach's St. John Passion, Mendelssohn’s St. Paul, Handel’s Israel in Egypt, and Britten's War Requiem.

Because of the Chorale’s strong ties to the university and community, they sing in such disparate venues as area nursing homes, official university events, and Duke basketball games. Their annual family-style Christmas program fills Duke Chapel to overflowing and supplies vast amounts of food for area homeless shelters.

The Chorale has been conducted by Rodney Wynkoop since 1984 and is accompanied by Kisun Lee.

The Chorale's 2015-16 calendar

Monday, Aug. 24 through Friday, Aug. 28 (10 am-5 pm), 036 Westbrook – AUDITIONS for new and returning singers

Tuesday, Aug. 25 (7:30-8:30 pm), 019 Biddle (Bone Hall) – open rehearsal

Thursday, Aug. 27 (8:30 pm), Arch Sing (East Campus concert, exact location TBA)

Saturday, Oct. 31 (8 pm), Baldwin Auditorium – Parents Weekend Concert, with Duke Symphony, and Duke Wind Symphony

Sunday, Nov. 8 (12:30-9:30 pm) – concert trip to Pinehurst, NC (2 concerts)

Tuesday, Dec. 1 (7 pm), Baldwin Auditorium – Christmas concert

Sunday, Mar. 13 – Sunday, Mar. 20 – SPRING TOUR to the Southeastern U.S.

  • Sunday, March 13 at 6:30 p.m.
    Hyde Park United Methodist Church (500 W Platt St, Tampa, FL 33606)
  • Monday, March 14 at 7:00 p.m.
    First United Methodist Church (104 S. Pineapple Ave, Sarasota, FL 34236)
  • ​Wednesday, March 16 at 7:00 p.m.
    Amelia Island Plantation Chapel (36 Bowman Rd, Fernandina Beach, FL 32034)
  • Thursday, March 17 at 7:30 p.m.
    St. Philip’s Church (142 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401)
  • Friday, March 18 at 7:00 p.m.
    Shandon United Methodist Church (3407 Devine St, Columbia, SC 29205)
  • Saturday, March 19 at 7:00 p.m.
    First Presbyterian Church (125 S 3rd Street, Wilmington, NC 28401)

Tuesday, Mar. 22 (8 pm), Baldwin Auditorium – spring tour concert

Sunday, Apr. 10 (4 pm), Page Auditorium – Verdi Requiem with the Chapel Choir and orchestra

Friday, Apr. 22 (8 pm), Biddle lobby – annual Celebration concert

Videos