The Duke University Wind Symphony (DUWS), directed by Verena Mösenbichler-Bryant, is an ensemble of Duke students who wish to challenge themselves musically while having fun playing and performing. The group is composed largely of non-majors, but it performs the finest wind and percussion literature at a high level of artistry.

The Wind Symphony gives two to three formal concerts each semester, exploring musical styles from the Medieval Period to the 21st century. It also involves notable traditions such as an annual tour, the Viennese Ball, and visits from renowned guest composers and conductors. Repertoire includes compositions by composers such as Grainger, Sousa, Holst, Mozart, Gershwin, and Hindemith.

    • Duke Wind Symphony 2014/2015
    • Photo Credit: Steven Bryant
    • Duke Wind Symphony 2014/15
  • Previous
  • Next
    • duws logo 6 14 13