Project Orfeo

Sunday, September 25, 2016 - 4:00pm

Event Price: 
$10 general admission, students free

*Presented in association with the Franklin Humanities Institute/Humanities Futures.* Novelist Richard Powers ("The Time of our Singing" and "The Echomaker") joins Duke faculty composer Scott Lindroth, the Horszowski Piano Trio, clarinetist Benjamin Fingland, flutist Laura Gilbert and Duke faculty violist Jonathan Bagg in a mixed-media concert that combines readings from Powers' 2014 novel "Orfeo" with performances of Messiaen's Quartet for the End of Time, and the premiere a new Lindroth composition. The mixed-media event will weave probing and eloquent passages from "Orfeo" around performances of both compositions, placing them in the context of the novel's central topic, the search for a revelatory new musical language for our time. Powers' book discourses eloquently on 20th century masterpieces, while he imagines a yet-to-be-written music for the 21st century that might be derived from existing natural and scientific phenomena. Lindroth's new work takes up the challenge of the writer's imaginings, creating a fascinating dialogue between composer, writer, and performer. National Book Award-winning author Richard Powers delivers his most emotionally charged novel to date, inspired by the myth of Orpheus. "If Powers were an American writer of the nineteenth century...he'd probably be the Herman Melville of Moby-Dick. His picture is that big," wrote Margaret Atwood (New York Review of Books).

More Information

Baldwin Auditorium

Location Info