2017 Music Department Award Winners

Friday, May 26, 2017
Department of Music Awards

The Ann-Marie Parsons Memorial Prize:  Justin Bryant
This award was established in 1991 in memory of Ann-Marie Parsons (Trinity '92) and recognizes excellence in the field of jazz studies.

The William Klenz Prize in Music Composition:  Jonathan Aisenberg for Filamentary, for Orchestra & Original Chamber Works

The Julia Wilkinson Prize for Excellence in Music:  Melody Lin
This award is named in honor of a former chair of the Department of Music and member of the Ciompi Quartet and is presented to a graduating senior for achievement in musical performance.

The Henry Schuman Music Prize: Ilhan Gokhan, for his composition Metamorphosis
This prize is awarded to a graduating senior for an original composition or a distinguished paper in music history or analysis.

Paul R. Bryan Award:  Alex Pieloch and William Harris
Presented annually to recognize outstanding musicianship and exemplary service to the Duke University Wind Symphony. This award is given in honor of Professor Emeritus, Paul R. Bryan, professor of Music and conductor of the Wind Symphony (1951-1989).

Duke University Awards
​Benenson Awards in the Arts to support summer research

David Geng, Pianistic Immersion at the Brevard Music Center Summer Institute & Festival
Amanda HedgecockNationalism in Music: Eastern Impressions of the Western Music Tradition. Amanda will participate as a soloist and as a chamber musician at the Beijing International Music Festival and Academy in August 2017. 
Robert Meese, Summer Festivals for Conducting and Trombone. Robert will attend the Eastern Music Festival (or NU Wind Conducting Symposium, USC Conducting Institute, and STS) where he will study conducting or trombone.