John V. Brown serves as Chair of the Jury for the 2021 Pulitzer Prize in Music


Professor Brown and the four other jurors serving on the committee selected composer Tania León's "Stride" as the winning work.

In addition to León's Stride, the other two finalists were Ted Hearne's Place and Maria Schneider's Data Lords. Read the full description at

Professor Brown is Vice Provost for the Arts, Director of the Jazz Program, and Professor of the Practice of Music at Duke University. He has served on the jury for the Pulitzer Prize in Music twice before, in 2017 and in 2019. The other distinguished jurors on the committee for the 2021 Pulitzer Prize in Music were Regina Carter (Jazz Violinist, Maywood, N.J.), Ellen Reid (Composer/Sound Artist, New York City), John Schaefer (Host, "New Sounds," WNYC Radio), and Christopher J. Washburne (Composer/Trombonist; Professor of Music, Columbia University).