Graduate Students

Composition

Maximiliano Amici

Maximiliano Amici

Student

maximiliano.amici@duke.edu

I always enjoy composing, and I particularly like to explore diverse, multiple facets of music making, as mirrors of being and acting in the world. I was born in Rome in 1980 into a family of musicians. Apart from playing violin in my childhood, I started serious studies of music late in my life,... Full Profile »

James Budinich

James Budinich

Student

james.budinich@duke.edu

James Budinich composes music inspired by minimalism, Croatian folk traditions, and American popular music. He has written for orchestra, voice, chamber ensembles, solo instruments, and electronics. He has collaborated with Lindsay Brown (Love’s Lost Words for mezzo-soprano, cello, and piano),... Full Profile »

Stephen Downing

Stephen Downing

Student

stephen.downing@duke.edu

Stephen Downing is a North Carolina-based composer, percussionist, and visual artist. His music searches to find the intersection of the classical tradition, organic structures, humor, and the human condition. Some of his musical inspirations include the obsessiveness of minimalism, the energy of... Full Profile »

Brooks Frederickson

Brooks Frederickson

Student

brooks.frederickson@duke.edu

Composer Brooks Frederickson writes patient music that is grounded in long lines of slowly evolving textures with understated rhythmic drive. As an active participant in Brooklyn's vibrant contemporary music scene, he has worked with leading new music ensembles Sō Percussion, JACK Quartet,... Full Profile »

Brittany Green

Brittany Green

Student

brittany.green@duke.edu

Brittany J. Green (b. 1991) is a North Carolina-based composer, creative, and educator. Described as “cinematic in the best sense” and “searing” (Chicago Classical Review), Brittany’s music is centered around facilitating collaborative, intimate musical spaces that ignite visceral responses. The... Full Profile »

Eren Gumrukcuoglu

Eren Gumrukcuoglu

Student

eren.gumrukcuoglu@duke.edu

Director, [dnme] Duke New Music Ensemble

Dayton Kinney

Dayton Kinney

Student

Office Hours: by appointment only

dayton.kinney@duke.edu

Dayton Kinney creates music that has won and has been recognized for numerous competitions. Performed in the U.S. and abroad, Dayton’s music has had notable performances by the International Contemporary Ensemble, the Juventas New Music Ensemble, F-Plus, the Durham Medical Orchestra, Rela... Full Profile »

Huijuan Ling

Huijuan Ling

Student

huijuan.ling@duke.edu

Huijuan Ling is a Chinese composer of contemporary concert music whose work has been heard across China, the US, Canada, and Italy, with major performance and commissions from the Shanghai Philharmonia Orchestra, CCM Philharmonia Orchestra, Seven Hills Sinfonietta, JACK Quartet, Line Upon Line... Full Profile »

Jason Mulligan

Jason Mulligan

Student

jason.mulligan@duke.edu

Jason Mulligan is a composer seeking to explore how to blend the western classical tradition with the issues and sensibilities of 21st century life.  A native of Dallas, Jason studied music composition at the University of Miami and Peabody Conservatory with Scott Stinson and Kevin Puts... Full Profile »

Minato Sakamoto

Minato Sakamoto

Student

minato.sakamoto@duke.edu

Minato Sakamoto is a Japanese composer born and raised in suburban Osaka. He composes music to express something of the human experience, including seemingly mundane and personal occurrences. His compositions practice the unserious seriously, fuse spontaneous and organic qualities, and demonstrate... Full Profile »

Amin Sharifi Jabali

Amin Sharifi Jabali

Student

amin.sharifi@duke.edu

Amin Sharifi (Mohammad Amin Sharifi), Iranian contemporary composer, studied Composition at the Art University of Tehran and Indiana University Jacobs School of Music under the direction of Nader Mashayekhi, Mehdi Hosseini, Peter Ablinger, Klaus Lang, David Dzubay, and Don Freund. He also has had... Full Profile »

Ethnomusicology

Jonathan Henderson

Jonathan Henderson

Student

jonathan.henderson@duke.edu

Jonathan Henderson is a North Carolina-based multi-instrumentalist, composer, writer, producer, and educator. Currently perusing a PhD in ethnomusicology at Duke University, Jonathan remains active as an artist and performer. Most recently, Jonathan produced the album "Routes" for his band Diali... Full Profile »

Musicology

Devon Carter

Devon Carter

Student

devon.carter@duke.edu

Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) Student in Musicology, 2019-Present As a first-year Ph.D. student in musicology with the Music Department, I am currently exploring areas in which I may wish to conduct research. Currently my main interest is in the history of opera, especially later Romantic and early... Full Profile »

Ka Man Misty Choi

Ka Man Misty Choi

Student

ka.man.misty.choi@duke.edu

Education MPhil Historical Musicology, The Chinese University of Hong KongMA Music The Chinese University of Hong KongBA, MPhil Linguistics, The City University of Hong Kong Professional qualificationsLicentiate diploma in Music Theory (LMusTCL), Trinity College of LondonMember of Chartered... Full Profile »

Jon Churchill

Jon Churchill

Student

jonathan.churchill@duke.edu

Jon's research focuses on British modernism, with special attention to issues of musical stasis and nonlinearity. Other interests include semiotics, the works of Charles Ives, and neuromusicology as it relates to the intersection of music and trauma. He holds a Master's in Musicology from The... Full Profile »

Liz Crisenbery

Liz Crisenbery

Student

elizabeth.crisenbery@duke.edu

Liz is a PhD Candidate in musicology who studies early twentieth-century Italian opera, exploring the intersection of gender, politics, and music. Her dissertation examines masculine identities of fascist composers and reception of their operas during the height of Italian fascism. Other research... Full Profile »

Meredith Graham

Meredith Graham

Student

meredith.graham@duke.edu

Meredith is a fourth-year PhD candidate in musicology who studies twentieth-century British choral music. She is interested in text setting in the music of Ralph Vaughan Williams, Herbert Howells, Grace Williams, and Elizabeth Maconchy. She is currently the Outreach & Assessment Coordinator for... Full Profile »

Hannah Krall

Hannah Krall

Student

hannah.krall@duke.edu

Hannah Krall is a musicologist interested in early music and jazz improvisation, traditional jazz, and music for the viola da gamba. She has a BA in Music from Cornell University (magna cum laude).

Molly Martin

Molly Martin

Student

molly.martin@duke.edu

Molly is a first-year musicologist interested in Opera at the turn of the century, Expressionism in music, vocal jazz, and music and narrative. Currently she is most enthralled with the music of Richard Wagner, Gustav Mahler, and the operas of Richard Strauss. Her performance history as a vocalist... Full Profile »

Karen Messina

Karen Messina

Student

karen.messina@duke.edu

Karen's research interests center on the analysis and interpretation of operatic and vocal music in an effort to determine how these genres express, support, and augment their texts.  Her dissertation project, titled “Dramatic Impulse: Diegetic Music in the Operas of Giacomo Puccini,” delves into... Full Profile »

Emily Shyr

Emily Shyr

Student

emily.shyr@duke.edu

Emily Shyr entered the PhD program in Historical Musicology at Duke University in the Fall of 2018. Prior to coming to Duke, she earned her MPhil in American History at the University of Cambridge (2018), and received her Bachelor's degree from Columbia University (2017), where she majored in music... Full Profile »

Nicholas Smolenski

Nicholas Smolenski

Student

nicholas.smolenski@duke.edu

Nicholas Smolenski, a third-year student and early modernist, explores how sound, acoustics and sacred music collections were integrated in the rebuilding of formerly destroyed London churches, ca. 1670–1700; additional research involves the use of sound to re-contextualize King Charles I’s... Full Profile »

Cole Swanson

Cole Swanson

Student

cole.swanson@duke.edu

Cole Swanson is a musicologist interested in 20th-century opera, ecomusicology, and Cold War-era jazz, as well as the intersection of cinema, music/sound, and philosophy. He has an MA in Musicology from Tufts University and BAs from St.Olaf College in Music and Environmental Studies.