Graduate Students

Composition

James Robert Budinich

Student

james.budinich@duke.edu

James Budinich composes music inspired by minimalism, Croatian folk traditions, and American popular music. He has written for orchestra, voice, chamber ensembles, solo instruments, and electronics. He has collaborated with Lindsay Brown (Love’s Lost Words for mezzo-soprano, cello, and piano),... Full Profile »

missing portrait

James Koya Chu

Student

james.chu@duke.edu

Director, [dnme] Duke New Music Ensemble

Yahn Wagner Ferreira de Mello Pinto

Student

Office: 043 Biddle Music Building

yahn.wagner@duke.edu

Brooks Jeffrey Frederickson

Student

brooks.frederickson@duke.edu

Composer Brooks Frederickson writes patient music that is grounded in long lines of slowly evolving textures with understated rhythmic drive. As an active participant in Brooklyn's vibrant contemporary music scene, he has worked with leading new music ensembles Sō Percussion, JACK Quartet,... Full Profile »

Dayton Louise Kinney

Student

Office: 046 Biddle Music Building

Office Hours: by appointment

dayton.kinney@duke.edu

Massachusetts-native, Dayton Kinney, creates music that has won and has been recognized for numerous competitions at the international, national, and state levels. Performed in the U.S. and abroad, Dayton’s music has had notable performances by the International Contemporary Ensemble, the Merce... Full Profile »

Owen Sidney Richardson

Student

Office: 047 Biddle Music Building

Office Hours: By Appointment, 047 Biddle Music Building

owen.richardson@duke.edu

Composer Sid Richardson (b. 1987) writes concert music that imbues modern idioms with emotional grit and cerebral wit.  He has collaborated on projects with artists such as Conrad Tao, The Da Capo Chamber Players, Deviant Septet, Ensemble Amarcord, and yMusic. Sid’s arrangement of the Bach Double... Full Profile »

Ethnomusicology

Musicology

Samantha Danielle Arten

Student

samantha.arten@duke.edu

Director, Duke Collegium Musicum

Ka Man Misty Choi

Student

ka.man.misty.choi@duke.edu

Education MPhil Historical Musicology, The Chinese University of Hong KongMA Music The Chinese University of Hong KongBA, MPhil Linguistics, The City University of Hong Kong Professional qualificationsLicentiate diploma in Music Theory (LMusTCL), Trinity College of LondonMember of Chartered... Full Profile »

missing portrait

Jon Churchill

Student

jonathan.churchill@duke.edu

Research interests include Ralph Vaughan Williams, semiotics, and the intersection of music and trauma. 

missing portrait

Karen Elaine Hovey Messina

Student

Office Hours: Office: Biddle 044

karen.messina@duke.edu

Karen's research interests center on the analysis and interpretation of operatic and vocal music in an effort to determine how these genres express, support, and augment their texts.  Her dissertation project, titled “Dramatic Impulse: Diegetic Music in the Operas of Giacomo Puccini,” delves into... Full Profile »

Imani Danielle Mosley

Student

Office: 037 Biddle Music Building

imani.mosley@duke.edu

Andrew Cornell Pester

Student

Office: 048 Biddle Music Building

andrew.pester@duke.edu

Harrison B Russin

Student

Office: Biddle Music Building

Phone: (919) 885-4690

harrison.russin@duke.edu

Nicholas Mark Smolenski

Student

nicholas.smolenski@duke.edu

Nicholas Smolenski is a musicologist interested in sacred music of Jacobean and Caroline England, specifically the anthems and services of Thomas Tomkins; other interests include English Civil War politics and aesthetics in Renaissance England. He holds a master's degree in musicology from The... Full Profile »