Scott A. Lindroth

Scott A. Lindroth

Professor of Music

External Address: 
Duke University Department of Music, Box 90665, Durham, NC 27708-0665
Internal Office Address: 
Box 90665, Durham, NC 27708-0665
(919) 660-3307

I am a composer of instrumental and vocal music as well as interactive computer music.  My most recent works are Cadences (2016), commissioned by the Electric Earth Concert Series as part of a collaboration with novelist Richard Powers; and Piano Roll Prosody (2017), which was premiered by pianist Donald Berman.  Current projects include a piano trio, a solo cello composition for cellist Ashley Bathgate, and a work for soprano saxophone and string quartet.


  • D.M.A., Yale University 1991
  • M.A., Yale University 1989
  • B.M., Eastman School of Music 1980

Relations to Rigor I. Creator. Performance by the Netherlands Wind Ensemble at the Holland Festival, 1992 (1986)


For fifteen instruments. Premiered at the Yale School of Music conducted by Arthur Weisberg.

Two Part Invention. Creator. (1986)


For orchestra; commissioned by the New York Youth Symphony.

Syntax. Composer. (1985)


For Synclavier solo, premiered by the composer

In the Red Mountains. Creator. (1984)


For chorus, piano, and chimes; text by W.S. Merwin.

Pieces of Piano. Creator. (1982)


For piano solo. Winner of the ISCM National Composers Competition, 1983.

Chasing the Trane Out of Darmstadt. Creator. (1980)


Dorn Publications. For tenor saxophone and piano.

Two Pieces for Alto Saxophone and Chamber Ensemble. Creator. (1977)


Dorn Publications. For alto sax, violin, viola, cello, and piano.


Fellowships, Supported Research, & Other Grants

Arts & Sciences Research Council Grant awarded by Duke University (2007)

Howard Foundation Fellowship awarded by Duke University (2002)