Upcoming Concerts

Duke Symphony Orchestra December 4, 2024 7:30 pm — Baldwin Auditorium Music of Reflection Jean Sibelius: *Rakastava* ("The Lover"), Op. 14, (1912); Ralph Vaughan Williams: The Lark Ascending with Eric Pritchard, violinist: and Vaughan Williams: Symphony No. 5 in D Major, (1938-1943)

Duke Symphony Orchestra March 5, 2025 7:30 pm — Baldwin Auditorium Final Statements Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Symphony No. 41 in C Major, the Jupiter, K. 551, (1788); Paul Hindemith: Trauermusik, for Viola and Strings, (1936), "Music of Mourning" with Jonathan Bagg, violist; Peter Ilvich Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 6 in B minor, Op. 74, Pathétique, Op. 14 (1893)

> For a listing of upcoming Duke Music events, visit *https://music.duke.edu*

> > or scan here:







DUKE MUSIC

2024-2025 Concert Season The Duke Symphony Orchestra Harry Davidson, music director

Great Colleagues, "Great" Music

October 9, 2024

Baldwin Auditorium 7:30 pm

Cut Time (2004)

Stephen Jaffe (b. 1954)

Sinfonia Concertante in Bb Major, (1792)

Allegro Andante Allegro con spirito

> Bo Newsome, Oboist Jessica Kunttu, Bassoonist Hsiao-Mei Ku, Violinist Caroline Stinson, Cellist

> > INTERMISSION

Symphony No. 9 in C Major, The Great, D 944 (1826)

Franz Schubert (1797 - 1828)

Andante; Allegro ma non troppo Andante Scherzo: Allegro vivace; trio Finale: Allegro vivace

To give each audience member the opportunity to enjoy the performance fully, please silence all electronic devices. Flash photography, recording, food, and beverages are not permitted.

Joseph Haydn (1732 - 1809)

About the Music Director

Harry Davidson is in his twenty-sixth season as Music Director and Conductor of the Duke Symphony Orchestra and Professor of the Practice of Music at Duke University. In spring 2007, he was named Music Director and Conductor of Opera at the Cleveland Institute of Music, where he conducts one opera production each semester while continuing in his role as Music Director of the DSO.

In July 2000, he made his major orchestra conducting debut, leading the National Symphony Orchestra in concert at the Kennedy Center in Washington, D.C. Mr. Davidson has guest conducted orchestras in Austria, Finland, and the U.S., including the Charlotte and Akron symphonies, as well as the Symphony and Chamber Orchestras of the Oberlin College Conservatory of Music, where he has held residencies on two occasions. He has held the positions of Associate Conductor of the Wichita Symphony Orchestra, Professor of Music and Director of Orchestras at Wichita State University, Conductor of the Cleveland Orchestra Youth Orchestra, and Associate Professor of Music at the University of Akron. In the past, he has served as a cover conductor for the North Carolina Symphony and the Cleveland Orchestra.

Mr. Davidson was a finalist in the Detroit Symphony's Antal Dorati Conducting Competition and the Hans Swarowsky Conducting Competition in Vienna.



Orchestra Committee 2024-2025

Co-Presidents: Dav King and Carlos Montes Treasurer: Lucas Sasaya Secretary: Sophia Urbom Publicity Chairs: Ava Meigs and Hailey Kasney Social Chairs: Jeffrey Broms and Ilana Mizrahi

Duke Symphony Orchestra, Fall 2024

Violin I

Lewis Zhu Justine Shih **Concertmasters** Myles Bell Associate Concertmaster Alex Chao Calvin Chen Pamela Davidson Frances Hayward Sierra Healy Hannah Lee Hyunjin Lee Claire Li Katherine Li Bernard Liang Anric Ngan Alayna Shu Ben Underwood Alec Vazquez-Kanhere Grace Wang Selena Xiao John Yoo Anthony Zhao

Violin II Leah Nickelsburg Principal Plato Delivannis Assistant Principal Dhanya Balasuramanian Yihan Chen Guo Cheng Priva Ghanta Leo Goldberg Riley Hamp Natalia Harnisch Faith Hochman Jack Jones Yasmine Kwon Matthew Lee Yiwei Mao Ikpomwonsa Osaghae Andrea Owusu Monet Shum Ngoc Tran Juliette Workman Julia Zheng Julia Zheng Yuruo Zheng

Viola

Sophia Urbom Principal Hailey Kasney Assistant Principal Alexander Du Associate Principal Jeremy Aguilar Caroline Felker Caroline McSwain Ava Meigs Chelsea Nguyen Kenneth Rogerson Emma Smith Rachel Wu

Violoncello

Rhododendron Buhrman Principal Lucas Taiki Sasava Assistant Principal John Critelli Assistant Principal Jacob Egol Assistant Principal Roger Chen Albert Choi Ivv Geng Tymon Hendershott Caroline Huang Andy Jiang Erin O'Kane Zehavi Rodriguez Jeff Rossman Joshua Sadun Matthew Saltify Mavur Sehar Ella Smullen Haizau Song Cassidy Thompson Raechel Wu David Yao

Bass

Dav King Principal William Anderson Jeffrey Broms Ariel Kimberley

Grant Peng Principal Clara Henne Julia Zheng

Oboe

Flute

Noella Barron Carlos Montes Edward Song

Clarinet

Jennifer Lee Jocelyn Reyes Alan Wang

Bassoon

Bart Meinke Principal J. Suddreth

Horn

Nate Goldin Principal Carrie Li Ilana Mizrahi Thomas Shaffer Xudong Zhuang

Trumpet

Kyle Prokopio Kathy Silbiger

Trombone

Abraham Palmer Gianna Rodriguez Jonathan Torres

Tuba

Matthew Lyons

Timpani Ray Bao

Percussion

Suraj Chatoth Issac Jung Tengle Wong

Keyboard Vicky Yang

Harp Melody Tzang