Audition Information

The Department of Music offers a wide-ranging array of instrumental lessons and ensembles with outstanding faculty. Auditions are required for admission.

Audition Schedules and Contacts

Signing up for Auditions

Sign-up sheets are posted outside the audition rooms for ensembles and private lessons, except for choral auditions (call 684-3898) and percussion (sign up outside 019 Biddle). Students are encouraged to sign up during orientation week. Unless otherwise noted, instrumental auditions are for Applied Lessons, Duke Symphony Orchestra, and Wind Symphony. Jazz Ensemble, Jazz Combos, and Chamber Music auditions are listed separately.

2015 Dates Time Ensemble/Instrument Study Area Location
Monday, Aug. 24 - Friday, Aug. 28 10 am - 5 pm Chorale & Chapel Choir (singers may audition for Chapel Choir through Oct. 1) 036 Westbrook (call 684-3898)
       
Saturday, Aug. 22 11 am - 12:30 pm Chapel Choir Open Rehearsal Page Auditorium
  1:30-2:30 pm OR 3-4 pm Ensemble Information Meetings: students interested in Music Dept. vocal and instrumental groups my attend EITHER of these sessions 019 Biddle (vocalists)
101 Biddle (instrumentalists)
       
Sunday, Aug. 23 9:15 am - 12 pm Chapel Choir Rehearsal and Service Page Auditorium
       
Monday, Aug. 24 4 - 7:30 pm Classical Piano 067 Biddle
  6 - 9 pm Viola, Cello & Bass 084 Biddle
  7 - 8 pm Saxophone & Euphonium 019 Biddle
  7:15 - 9:15 pm Jazz Ensemble Open Rehearsal Baldwin Auditorium
  8 - 9 pm Classical Guitar 024 Biddle
       
Tuesday, Aug. 25 1:30 - 4 pm Voice 075 Biddle
  5 - 10 pm Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, Bassoon 104 Biddle
  6 - 10 pm Jazz Ensemble & Combos: Saxophone, Flute, Clarinet, Rhythm Section (Guitar, Percussion, Bass, Piano) & Vocalists 064 Biddle
  7:30 - 8:30 pm Chorale Open Rehearsal 019 Biddle
  7:30 - 10 pm Chamber Music 083 Biddle
       
Wednesday, Aug. 26 10:30 am - 12:30 pm & 1:30 - 4:30 pm Voice 075 Biddle
  4 - 7 pm Jazz Ensemble & Combos: Trumpet 064 Biddle
  4:40 - 6 pm Opera Workshop Info Session 075 Biddle
  6 - 7:50 pm Chapel Choir Open Rehearsal Page Auditorium
  6 - 9 pm Horn, Trumpet, Trombone & Tuba 019 Biddle
  7 - 10 pm Jazz Ensemble & Combos: Trombone 064 Biddle
       
Thursday, Aug. 27 5 - 11 pm Violin 084 Biddle
  6 - 7 pm Percussion Baldwin Auditorium
  7:30 - 9:30 pm Wind Symphony Open Rehearsal Baldwin Auditorium

 

All applied lessons at Duke are offered by permission of the instructors after competitive auditions at the beginning of the semester.

Instrument Audition Contact Phone Email
Bass Michael Ashton   mykl.ashton@gmail.com
Bassoon Saxton Rose   roses@uncsa.edu
Cello Fred Raimi 919-660-3327 frr@duke.edu
Clarinet Jimmy Gilmore 919-781-3853 jimmyclarinet@gmail.com
Djembe/Afro Cuban Percussion Bradley Simmons   bradleys@duke.edu
Flute Rebecca Troxler 919-660-3311 rtroxler@duke.edu
Classical Guitar Randy Reed 919-490-1920 rreed@duke.edu
Jazz Guitar Drew Lile 919-403-6626 dlguitar64@gmail.com
Harp Laura Byrne 919-845-8343 l.byrneharpist@gmail.com
Harpsichord Robert Parkins 919-660-3315 rparkins@duke.edu
Horn Rachel Niketopoulos   niketopoulos@earthlink.net
Oboe Bo Newsome 919-452-9293 newsomeb@ecu.edu
Organ Robert Parkins 919-660-3315 rparkins@duke.edu
Percussion Cameron Britt   cameron.britt@duke.edu
Piano Jane Hawkins 919-660-3321 jhr@duke.edu
Randall Love 919-660-3334 rmlove@duke.edu
Pei-fen Liu 919-683-3066  
David Heid   dheid@duke.edu
Susan Greenberg   susie@duke.edu
Jazz Piano Ed Paolantonio 919-596-4410 ejp3@duke.edu
Saxophone Susan Fancher 336-340-5284 susan.fancher@duke.edu
Jazz Saxophone Dave Finucane 919-358-0753 dave.finucane@gmail.com
Trombone and Tuba Michael Kris 919-554-1562 mkris@email.unc.edu
Trumpet Don Eagle 919-783-4296 deagle001@gmail.com
Viola Jonathan Bagg 919-660-3331 jbagg@duke.edu
Violin

 

Hsiao-mei Ku 919-660-3329 hmku@duke.edu
Eric Pritchard 919-660-3325 epritch@duke.edu
Andrew Bonner   bonnerviolin@gmail.com
Mary Kay Robinson   marykayrobinson47@gmail.com
Voice Susan Dunn 919-660-3323 opera@duke.edu
Penelope Jensen 919-660-3312 ep.jensen@mindspring.com
Wayne Lail 919-660-3312 wlail@duke.edu
Elizabeth Linnartz 919-660-3332 elizabeth.linnartz@duke.edu
Sandra Cotton   sandra.cotton@duke.edu