Ciompi Quartet Lunchtime Classics

Thursday, October 10, 2019 - 12:00pm

Event Price: 

In this free noontime event, the Ciompi Quartet will perform Igor Stravinsky's Concertino and Marie Jaëll's String Quartet. Student string quartet Quarlitté (Haoyang Yu, Ann Chang, Celina Zhou, Prateek Khandelwal) will play the 1st movement of Mendelssohn's Quartet in F Minor, Op. 80. The Ciompi Quartet was founded at Duke University in 1965 by the renowned Italian violinist Giorgio Ciompi. All its members are professors at Duke and play a leading role in its cultural life, in addition to traveling widely throughout the year for performances. In a career that includes many hundreds of concerts and spans five continents, the Ciompi Quartet has developed a reputation for performances of real intelligence and musical sophistication, and for a warm, unified sound that is enhanced by each player's strong individual voice. This concert is presented in association with Duke University Libraries.

More Information

Rubenstein Library Holsti-Anderson Family Assembly Room 153

Location Info