Audition Information

The Department of Music offers a wide-ranging array of instrumental lessons and ensembles with outstanding faculty. Auditions are required for admission.

To audition for lessons or ensembles not included in the table below, please contact the faculty member directly.

Auditions are for current Duke University enrolled students only. Make sure to sign up for your audition using your Duke email address.

Fall 2021 Auditions

2021 Dates Time Ensemble/Instrument Study Area Location
Sunday, Aug. 22 1 - 2 PM  OR  2 - 3 PM Ensemble Information Meetings: students interested in Symphony Orchestra, Wind Symphony, or the Jazz Ensemble may attend either of these sessions to learn more about auditions, rehearsals, concerts, etc.
 
101 Biddle
  4 pm Chamber Music Information Meeting: Online at this link  
  7:30 pm Chorale ice cream social and information session 104 Biddle
       
Monday, Aug 23 - Friday, Aug. 27   Chorale auditions for new singers only. 02 Biddle
       
Monday, Aug. 23 4 - 7:30 pm Classical Piano Nelson Music Room
  6 pm - 9pm Viola, Cello & Bass for Symphony Orchestra and/or lessons 084 Biddle
  7 - 8:30 pm Saxophone, Euphonium, and Wind Symphony Piano 019 Biddle
  8 - 9 pm Classical guitar 024 Biddle
  8:30 - 9:30 pm Percussion (Symphony and Wind Symphony) Baldwin Auditorium
       
Tuesday, Aug. 24 2:30 - 5:30 pm Voice lessons Baldwin Auditorium
  5 - 6:30 pm Chamber WIND/BRASS Music (Auditions are for new students only. Students who have previously participated in Chamber Music, please contact Prof. Caroline Stinson directly.) 019 Biddle
  6:30 - 8:30 pm Chamber Music (Auditions are for new students only. Students who have previously participated in Chamber Music, please contact Prof. Caroline Stinson directly.) 104 Biddle
  5 - 10 pm Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, Bassoon Nelson Music Room
  7:30 - 8:30 pm Chorale Open Rehearsal 019 Biddle
       
 Wednesday, Aug. 25 6:30 - 10 pm Jazz Ensemble & Combos: Saxophones and doubles (Clarinet, Flute, etc.), Piano, Vibes, & Vocalists 019 Biddle
  7 - 10pm Horn, Trumpet, Trombone, Tuba Baldwin Auditorium
       
Thursday, August 26 6 - 10 pm Violin for Symphony Orchestra and/or lessons 104 Biddle
  6:30 - 10 pm Jazz Ensemble and Combos: Trumpets and Trombones, Guitar, Bass, and Drums 019 Biddle

 

All applied lessons at Duke are offered by permission of the instructors after competitive auditions at the beginning of the semester. Please contact the appropriate teacher below if you have questions about lessons.

If you have questions about auditioning for the Duke Chorale, contact Rodney Wynkoop. For the Jazz Ensemble, contact John Brown. For the Symphony Orchestra, contact Harry Davidson. For the Wind Symphony, contact Ben Jones for fall 2021 only.
 

Instrument Audition Contact Phone Email
Bass Zachary Hobin   zachary.hobin@gmail.com
Bassoon Jessica Kunttu   jessica.kunttu@duke.edu
Cello Caroline Stinson 919-660-3322 caroline.stinson@duke.edu
Clarinet Jimmy Gilmore 919-781-3853 jimmyclarinet@gmail.com
Djembe/Afro Cuban Percussion Bradley Simmons   bradleys@duke.edu
Flute Carla Copeland-Burns 336-327-5019 carla.copelandburns@duke.edu
Classical Guitar Randy Reed 919-490-1920 rreed@duke.edu
Jazz Guitar Kevin Van Sant 919-660-3300 kvansantguitar@gmail.com
Harp Laura Byrne 919-741-0934 l.byrneharpist@gmail.com
Harpsichord Robert Parkins 919-660-3315 rparkins@duke.edu
Horn Rachel Niketopoulos   niketopoulos@earthlink.net
Oboe Bo Newsome 919-452-9293 bo.newsome@duke.edu
Organ Robert Parkins 919-660-3315 rparkins@duke.edu
Percussion Julia Thompson   jt255@duke.edu
Piano Ieva Jokubaviciute  

ieva.jokubaviciute@duke.edu

Pei-fen Liu 919-683-3066 peifen.liu@duke.edu
David Heid   dheid@duke.edu
Derison Duarte   derison.duarte@duke.edu
Susan Greenberg   susie@duke.edu
Jazz Piano Ed Paolantonio 919-596-4410 ejp3@duke.edu
Saxophone Susan Fancher 336-340-5284 susan.fancher@duke.edu
Jazz Saxophone Dave Finucane 919-358-0753 dave.finucane@gmail.com
Trombone and Tuba Michael Kris 919-554-1562 mkris@email.unc.edu
Trumpet Kent Foss 919-407-0070 kent.foss@duke.edu
Viola

 

Jonathan Bagg 919-660-3331 jbagg@duke.edu
Simon Ertz   simon.ertz@duke.edu
Violin

 

Hsiao-mei Ku 919-660-3329 hmku@duke.edu
Eric Pritchard 919-660-3325 epritch@duke.edu
Mary Kay Robinson   marykayrobinson47@gmail.com
Jennifer Curtis  

jennifercurtisviolin@gmail.com

Voice Sandra Cotton   sandra.cotton@duke.edu
Elizabeth Linnartz 919-660-3332 elizabeth.linnartz@duke.edu
Penelope Jensen 919-660-3312 ep.jensen@mindspring.com
Ted Federle 919-660-3312 ted.federle@duke.edu

 

Ensemble Director Phone Email
Chamber Music Caroline Stinson 919-660-3322 caroline.stinson@duke.edu
Chinese Music Jennifer Chang   jennifer.chang946@duke.edu
Chorale Rodney Wynkoop 919-660-3302 rodney@duke.edu
Collegium Musicum      
Djembe & Afro-Cuban Bradley Simmons 919-282-6151 bradleys@duke.edu
[dnme] New Music Brittany Green   brittany.green@duke.edu
Jazz John Brown 919-660-3385 jbrown@duke.edu
Opera Theater David Heid 919-660-3303 dheid@duke.edu
Symphony Orchestra Harry Davidson 919-660-3324 hdavid@duke.edu
Wind Symphony  Ben Jones (for fall 2021 only)   joseph.b.jones@duke.edu