Antiracism Working Group

Statement of Purpose

The department of music at Duke university is committed to providing an open and inclusive learning environment that values diverse voices and lived experiences. The goal of the antiracism working group is to support and further these commitments through critical conversations, strategic recommendations, and action steps toward more proactive practices of racial equity within the department of music.

The antiracism working group meets regularly throughout the academic term and is composed of faculty, graduate students, and undergraduate students. Members of the department of music community who are interested in joining the antiracism working group should contact chair Jonathan Bagg at

Committee Members

Undergraduate students

  • Tommy Gress
  • Melissanthi Guthold
  • Sarah Houston
  • Nathaniel Maxwell

Graduate students

  • Devon Carter
  • Annie Koppes
  • Huijuan (Susie) Ling


  • Sophia Enriquez
  • Anthony Kelley