Staff

Samantha Arten

Samantha Arten

Graduate Assistant

Phone: +1 919 660 3308

samantha.arten@duke.edu

Paul Bryan, Ph.D.

Paul Bryan, Ph.D.

Professor of Music Emeritus (Wind Symphony, euphonium)

Office: Mary Duke Biddle Bldg., Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: Box 90665, Durham, NC 27708

Phone: +1 919 660 3300

pbryan@duke.edu

Emeritus Professor: Conducted the Duke Wind Symphony, Musicologist, specializing in music of the so-called Classic Period of the Eighteenth Century interest, in particular Johann Baptist Wanhal

Cecelia Goldman

Cecelia Goldman

Administrative Secretary

Office: 105 Mary Duke Biddle Bldg., Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: Box 90665, Durham, NC 277080880

Phone: +1 919 660 3300

cwgoldma@duke.edu

Sarah Griffin

Sarah Griffin

Public Services Assistant

Office: 113B Biddle Music Bldg, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: Box 90661, Durham, NC 27708

Phone: +1 919 660 6937

sarah.griffin@duke.edu

Gretchen Hoag

Gretchen Hoag

Business Manager

Office: 105 Biddle Music Building, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: Box 90665, Durham, NC 277080665

Phone: +1 919 660 3310

gretchen.hoag@duke.edu

Scott Lee

Scott Lee

Graduate Assistant

Phone: +1 919 660 3308

scott.lee@duke.edu

Rebecca Libera, D.M.A.

Rebecca Libera, D.M.A.

Instructor

Phone: +1 919 660 3300

rebecca.libera@duke.edu

Brandi Melvin-Scammell

Brandi Melvin-Scammell

Undergraduate Studies Assistant

Phone: +1 919 660 3335

brandi.melvin.scammell@duke.edu

Rick Nelson

Rick Nelson

Staff

Office: 105 Biddle Music Building, Durham, NC 277080665

Campus Box: Box 90665, Durham, NC 277080665

Phone: +1 919 660 3330

rick.nelson@duke.edu

Nina Penner

Nina Penner

Research Associate

Office: 070 Mary Duke Biddle Music Building, Durham, NC 27708

Phone: +1 919 660 3318

Office Hours: I'm in my office most days during regular working hours and welcome visitors interested in talking about opera/musical theatre and philosophy.

nina.penner@duke.edu

Nina Penner is a musicologist who is at Duke for two-year postdoc, funded by the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada. Her work lies at the intersection of opera studies, analytic philosophy, and literary theory. Her first book A Philosophy of Operatic Storytelling (under... Full Profile »

Andrew Pester

Andrew Pester

Graduate Assistant

Phone: +1 919 660 3300

andrew.pester@duke.edu

Cathy Puckett

Cathy Puckett

Staff Assistant

Office: Music Department, Box 90665, 105 Mary Duke Biddle Building, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: Box 90665, Music Department, Durham, NC 27708-0665

Phone: +1 919 660 3308

cathy.puckett@duke.edu

Sidney Richardson

Sidney Richardson

Research Assistant, Ph D Student

Phone: +1 919 660 3308

Office Hours: By Appointment, 047 Biddle Music Building

owen.richardson@duke.edu

Composer Sid Richardson (b. 1987) writes concert music that imbues modern idioms with emotional grit and cerebral wit.  He has collaborated on projects with artists such as Conrad Tao, The Da Capo Chamber Players, Deviant Septet, Ensemble Amarcord, and yMusic. Sid’s arrangement of the Bach Double... Full Profile »

John Santoianni

John Santoianni

Curator of Organs and Harpsichords

Office: Duke Univ Chapel, Room 029, Durham, NC 277080974

Campus Box: Box 90665, Durham, NC 277080974

Phone: +1 919 684 2181

jpsanto@duke.edu

Kirsten Santos Rutschman

Kirsten Santos Rutschman

Graduate Assistant

Office: 6106 N Winthrop Ave Apt 1, Chicago, IL 60660

Phone: +1 919 660 3308

kirsten.rutschman@duke.edu

Erica Shirts

Erica Shirts

Director of The Duke String School

Office: 105 Biddle Music Building, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: 105 Biddle Music Building, Durham, NC 27708

Phone: +1 919 660 3313

erica.shirts@duke.edu

Roman Testroet

Roman Testroet

Visiting Instructor

Office: 105 Biddle Music Building, Box 90665, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: Box 90665, Durham, NC 277080665

Phone: +1 919 660 3320

roman.testroet@duke.edu

Former Duke PhD student in Historical Musicology, current choir director, inveterate dropout. Director of Duke's Collegium Musicum and Director of Music at Pilgrim United Church of Christ in Durham.

Elizabeth Thompson

Elizabeth Thompson

Staff

Office: 054 Biddle Music, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: Box 90665, Durham, NC 277080665

Phone: +1 919 660 3333

elizabeth.thompson@duke.edu

Laura Williams

Laura Williams

Music Librarian

Office: Music Library, 113 Biddle Bldg, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: Box 90661, Durham, NC 277080187

Phone: +1 919 660 5952

laura.williams@duke.edu

Robert Zimmerman

Robert Zimmerman

Visiting Instructor of Music

Office: 105 Biddle Music, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: Box 90665, Durham, NC 277080665

Phone: +1 919 660 3300

robert.zimmerman@duke.edu