Staff

Sarah K Griffin

Sarah K Griffin

Public Services Assistant

Office: 113B Biddle Music Bldg, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: Box 90661, Durham, NC 27708

Phone: +1 919 660 6937

sarah.griffin@duke.edu

Nina Penner

Nina Penner

Research Associate

Office: 070 Mary Duke Biddle Music Building, Durham, NC 27708

Phone: +1 919 660 3318

Office Hours: I'm in my office most days during regular working hours and welcome visitors interested in talking about opera/musical theatre and philosophy.

nina.penner@duke.edu

Nina Penner is a musicologist who is at Duke for two-year postdoc, funded by the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada. Her work lies at the intersection of opera studies, analytic philosophy, and literary theory. Her first book A Philosophy of Operatic Storytelling (under... Full Profile »

John P Santoianni

John P Santoianni

Curator of Organs and Harpsichords

Office: Duke Univ Chapel, Room 029, Durham, NC 277080974

Campus Box: Box 90665, Durham, NC 277080974

Phone: +1 919 684 2181

jpsanto@duke.edu

Erica Shirts

Erica Shirts

Director of The Duke String School

Office: 105 Biddle Music Building, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: 105 Biddle Music Building, Durham, NC 27708

Phone: +1 919 660 3313

erica.shirts@duke.edu

Roman Testroet

Roman Testroet

Visiting Instructor

Office: 105 Biddle Music Building, Box 90665, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: Box 90665, Durham, NC 277080665

Phone: +1 919 660 3320

roman.testroet@duke.edu

Former Duke PhD student in Historical Musicology, current choir director, inveterate dropout. Director of Duke's Collegium Musicum and Director of Music at Pilgrim United Church of Christ in Durham.

Robert R Zimmerman

Robert R Zimmerman

Visiting Instructor of Music

Office: 105 Biddle Music, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: Box 90665, Durham, NC 277080665

Phone: +1 919 660 3300

robert.zimmerman@duke.edu

Performance: Brass and Percussion

Paul R. Bryan

Paul R. Bryan

Professor of Music Emeritus (Wind Symphony, euphonium)

Office: Mary Duke Biddle Bldg., Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: Box 90665, Durham, NC 27708

Phone: +1 919 660 3300

pbryan@duke.edu

Emeritus Professor: Conducted the Duke Wind Symphony, Musicologist, specializing in music of the so-called Classic Period of the Eighteenth Century interest, in particular Johann Baptist Wanhal

Julia Thompson

Julia Thompson

Instructor

Office: 105 Biddle Music Building, Box 90665, Durham, NC 27708

Phone: +1 919 660 3300

julia.thompson@duke.edu

Percussionist Julia Thompson performs regularly with the North Carolina Symphony, North Carolina Opera, Carolina Ballet, Chamber Orchestra of the Triangle, and the Colorado MahlerFest. Locally, she has also appeared with New Music Raleigh, Carolina Brass, numerous national touring shows, theater... Full Profile »

Performance: Woodwinds

Carla Copeland-Burns

Carla Copeland-Burns

Instructor

Office: 105 Biddle Music Building, Box 90665, Durham, NC 27708

Phone: +1 919 660 3300

c.copelandburns@duke.edu

Noted as a flexible and versatile player, flutist Carla Copeland-Burns currently performs with the Greensboro, North Carolina, and Salisbury Symphonies as well as the North Carolina Opera, Carolina Ballet, Blue Mountain, and with the performer-composer collective Forecast Music. She has been a... Full Profile »

Rebecca Libera

Rebecca Libera

Instructor

Phone: +1 919 660 3300

rebecca.libera@duke.edu

Business Manager

Gretchen K Hoag

Gretchen K Hoag

Business Manager

Office: 105 Biddle Music Building, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: Box 90665, Durham, NC 277080665

Phone: +1 919 660 3310

gretchen.hoag@duke.edu

Administrative Staff

Cecelia W Goldman

Cecelia W Goldman

Administrative Secretary

Office: 105 Mary Duke Biddle Bldg., Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: Box 90665, Durham, NC 277080880

Phone: +1 919 660 3300

cwgoldma@duke.edu

Brandi Lee Melvin-Scammell

Brandi Lee Melvin-Scammell

Undergraduate Studies Assistant

Phone: +1 919 660 3335

brandi.melvin.scammell@duke.edu

Graduate Studies Assistant and Payroll Clerk

Cathy Puckett

Cathy Puckett

Staff Assistant

Office: Music Department, Box 90665, 105 Mary Duke Biddle Building, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: Box 90665, Music Department, Durham, NC 27708-0665

Phone: +1 919 660 3308

cathy.puckett@duke.edu

Concert Manager

Richard Nelson

Richard Nelson

Staff

Office: 105 Biddle Music Building, Durham, NC 277080665

Campus Box: Box 90665, Durham, NC 277080665

Phone: +1 919 660 3330

rick.nelson@duke.edu

Publicity

Elizabeth Thompson

Elizabeth Thompson

Staff

Office: 054 Biddle Music, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: Box 90665, Durham, NC 277080665

Phone: +1 919 660 3333

elizabeth.thompson@duke.edu