Music Department Awards 2023

Photo of the four graduating majors in a classroom
Class of 2023 Music majors (l to r): Ryan Briggs, Francesca Herrera, Courtney Dantzler, Nathaniel Maxwell

Music Department Awards

The Julia Wilkinson Mueller Prize for Excellence in Music
Francesca Herrera 
Nathaniel Maxwell 

This award is in honor of a former chair of the Department of Music and member of the Ciompi Quartet. It goes to a graduating senior for achievement in musical performance.

The William Klenz Prize in Music Composition
Ethan Foote for his chamber orchestra composition Wild Requiem
Awarded to a graduate or undergraduate student for excellence in composition.

The Henry Schumann Music Prize
Nathaniel Maxwell, Samuel Barber paper, Music History post-1918
Honorable mention:
Courtney Dantzler, Moon Wax for piano and electronics
Adam Kosinski, A Breath of Desire for soprano sax and piano

This prize is awarded to a graduating senior for an original composition or a distinguished paper in music history or analysis.

The Ann-Marie Parsons Memorial Prize
Mauro Mastrapasqua

This award was established in 1991 in memory of Ann-Marie Parsons (Trinity '92) to recognize excellence in the field of Jazz Studies.

The Paul R. Bryan Award
David Johnston
Isabella Larsen  
Meghan Merenich 

Presented annually to recognize outstanding musicianship and exemplary service to the Duke University Wind Symphony. This award is given in honor of Professor Emeritus, Paul R. Bryan, professor of Music and conductor of the Wind Symphony (1951-1989).

The Ciompi Quartet Award in Chamber Music
Dylan Cai, cello   
Jacob Liu, viola
As part of Instant Brahmen and A Rented Ski Trio: David Li, piano  
As part of Instant Brahmen and Larkspur: Jacob Egol, cello  
As part of Baldwin Brass Quintet (BBQ): Preston Bowman, French horn 
As part of DAWN Saxophone Quartet: Bill Guo, alto saxophone  
As part of Duke University Saxophone Quartet (DUSQ): Eddie Chen, soprano saxophone 
As part of Daphnis, Chloé, et Aram: Joie Jamison, violin 
As part of Daphnis, Chloé, et Aram: Lauren Simmons, cello  

The Ciompi Quartet Award celebrates juniors and seniors who have excelled in chamber music and made it a significant focus of their time in the Duke Music Department. 

The Duke Symphony Orchestra Conductor’s Award
Sabrina Camacho  
Jacob Egol 
Emma Lofgren 
CJ Tyson

The award recognizes the graduating senior or seniors who have consistently displayed the highest level of musical excellence, exemplary service and thoughtful leadership in the Duke Symphony Orchestra.