Philip Rupprecht receives the first annual Post-1945 Music Analysis IG Publication Award

Philip Rupprecht has received the first annual Publication Award from the Society for Music’s Theory’s Post-1945 Music Analysis Interest Group for his article “Rhythmic Dignity: Motive, Signal, and Flux in the Music of James Dillon,” published in Musiktheorie, vol. 34, no. 4 (2019).

The essay explores Dillon’s elastic shaping of pulse in the complex, groove-like textures of Ti.Re-Ti.Ke-Dha for percussion (1979) and Spleen for piano (1980). Musical motive offers a play of signal, pattern, and entropy, by analogy with cybernetic-structuralist models of constrained organic or mechanical systems. Repetition, following Bergson’s dynamic analytic of time-flow, “disappears even as it occurs.”

Rupprecht's writings focus on music of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. His publications include Rethinking Britten (Oxford University Press, 2013), British Musical Modernism: The Manchester Group and their Contemporaries (Cambridge University Press, 2015), and Tonality Since 1950 (ed., Franz Steiner Verlag, 2017).