2019 Graduates and Award Winners

Monday, May 13, 2019
Congratulations to the Class of 2019!
2019 Music majors

Undergraduate Degrees Conferred

First Major

Lily Chaw
Distinction for her recital and thesis: “Connecting the American Jazz and 19th Century Virtuosic Piano Traditions”

Second Major

Joshua Azza
Connor Scott Pfeiffer

Interdepartmental (with Neuroscience)

Dalton Akeim George


Roy Auh
Daniel Matthew Bass-Blue, II
Christopher Clay Camp
Jack Kenzo Claar
Aaron Hong
     Distinction recital and thesis: “From Piano to Forte: The Development of the Piano Through the 18th and Early 19th Century”
     The Henry Schuman Music Prize: to a graduating senior for an original composition or distinguished paper in music history or analysis for his Distinction thesis.
Kiyoon Ko
Eric Benjamin Morgenstern
Jose Ortega
Chandler Wheatley Richards
Bilva Gowda Sanaba
Anna Victoria Waters
Caroline Grace Westwood

Graduate Degrees Conferred

Yahn Wagner Ferreira De Mello Pinto, Ph.D. (Composition)
Dissertation pieces: To Pernambuco with Love for Wind Symphony, String Quartet No. 1, Maco Light for Bass Clarinet and Prerecorded Electronics
Dissertation article: "Educating for Composition Creativity."
The William Klenz Prize in Music Composition to a graduate or undergraduate student for excellence in composition for his piece String Quartet No. 1

Imani Danielle Mosley, Ph.D. (Musicology)
Dissertation: “‘The queer things he said’: British Identity, Social History, and Press Reception of Benjamin Britten’s Postwar Operas.”

Other Awards

The Julia Wilkinson Mueller Prize for Excellence in Music: David Geng, piano and Joseph Tan, voice
This award is named in honor of a former chair of the Department of Music and member of the Ciompi Quartet and is presented "to a graduating senior for achievement in musical performance."

The Ann-Marie Parsons Memorial Prize: Elise Fernandez
This award was established in 1991 in memory of Ann-Marie Parsons (Trinity '92) and recognizes excellence in the field of jazz studies.

The Paul R. Bryan Award:  Andrew Eurdolian and Samantha Woog
Presented annually to recognize outstanding musicianship and exemplary service to the Duke University Wind Symphony. This award is given in honor of Professor Emeritus, Paul R. Bryan, professor of Music and conductor of the Wind Symphony (1951-1989).