Music Department Awards 2020

Friday, April 17, 2020
Congratulations to all 2020 award winners!
Duke Music logo

Music Department Awards

The Julia Wilkinson Mueller Prize for Excellence in Music
Robert Meese and Amber Wolf

This award is named in honor of a former chair of the Department of Music and member of the Ciompi Quartet and is presented "to a graduating senior for achievement in musical performance."

The William Klenz Prize in Music Composition
Eren Gümrükçüoğlu, for his composition “Pareidolia”
Awarded to a graduate or undergraduate student for excellence in composition.

The Henry Schumann Music Prize
Richard Clayton Delp, for his composition “Gun Requiem”
This prize is awarded to a graduating senior for an original composition or a distinguished paper in music history or analysis.

The Ann-Marie Parsons Memorial Prize
Brian Weil

This award was established in 1991 in memory of Ann-Marie Parsons (Trinity '92) and recognizes excellence in the field of jazz studies.

The Paul R. Bryan Award
Ryan Culhane, Jeffrey Gu, and Jill Jones

Presented annually to recognize outstanding musicianship and exemplary service to the Duke University Wind Symphony. This award is given in honor of Professor Emeritus, Paul R. Bryan, professor of Music and conductor of the Wind Symphony (1951-1989).

The Ciompi Quartet Award in Chamber Music
Caroline Wang, Charles Todd, Holly Kim, and Daniel Fawcett

The Ciompi Quartet Award celebrates juniors and seniors who have excelled in chamber music and made it a significant focus of their time in the Duke Music Department. 

The Duke Symphony Orchestra Conductor’s Award
Robert Meese and Zoey Kang
The award recognizes the graduating senior or seniors who have consistently displayed the highest level of musical excellence, exemplary service and thoughtful leadership in the Duke Symphony Orchestra.

Campus Awards & Awards from Other Departments

The Louis Sudler Prize (campus-wide award)
Thandolwethu Mamba
The Louis Sudler Prize in the Arts is an award is presented annually by a faculty committee to a graduating senior who has demonstrated the most outstanding achievement in artistic performance or creation during four years of undergraduate work. The prize of $2,000 was established in 1983 through the generosity of Louis C. Sudler, Chicago, IL.

Harold Brody Award for Excellence in Musical Theater
Adam Beskind
Recognizes accomplishments in musical theater by students in the Department of Theater Studies, the Department of Music, or the student-run musical theater group Hoof 'n' Horn. The award was established by an alumnus with a deep affection for and appreciation of the art of musical theater.

Benenson Awards in the Arts (campus-wide award)
Thandolwethu Mamba and Robert Meese
Mamba and Meese are among fourteen Duke students who received a Benenson Award in the Arts this year to support and sustain their work over the summer months and help launch the graduating seniors into the next phase of their life.